Victorian Premier announces pledge for Perpetual Victorian John Monash Scholarship

Dr Denis Napthine, Leon Kempler and Lee Liberman

Victorian Premier Dr Denis Napthine yesterday announced that his Government, if re-elected, would commit to a perpetual John Monash Scholarship for Victoria.

The Scholarship would commence with the 2016 group of Scholars (announced November 2015), and is the first perpetual Scholarship supported by a State Government. 27 Victorians have been awarded John Monash Scholarships to date; the 27th, Asian policy expert Hugh Passmore, attended the lunch.

The announcement from the Victorian Government is particularly appropriate, as 2015 will be the sesquicentenary of Sir John Monash’s birth.  It was made in front of over 500 guests at the Australia-Israel Chamber of Commerce luncheon.  Dr Napthine praised the Scholarships, and noted their singular contribution to Australian leadership.

General Sir John Monash Foundation Ambassador and Co-Chair of the 2020 Scholarships Campaign, Mrs Lee Liberman of LJCB, gave the vote of thanks to Dr Napthine, and highlighted Sir John Monash’s illustrious career and importance to Victoria.  Mrs Liberman commented: “I am thrilled that the Premier, on behalf of the Victorian Government, shares our enthusiasm for developing future leaders”.

The Premier’s Media Release is attached (Vic Premier Media Release 13 November 2014).

Photo Nigel Clements Photography: Victorian Premier Dr Denis Napthine, Mr Leon Kempler OAM and Ms Lee Liberman